The Young Building on Camosun’s Lansdowne campus was built between 1913-1915 and designed by Vancouver architect W.C.F. Gillan. It was named after Dr. Henry Esson Young, a community member active in Victoria’s educational community. It was originally built as Victoria’s first Normal School and used as a military hospital during World War II.
Over the years, the building has housed the Victoria Normal School, Victoria College (which later became the University of Victoria), and the Institute of Adult Studies. In 1971, the building became part of Camosun College.
An 18-month exterior restoration of the Young Building was completed in the fall of 2000. The Ministry of Advanced Education, Training and Technology invested $7.8 million in the project while the Camosun College Foundation raised a further $500,000 from generous community and corporate donors to help complete the project.
The iconic Young Building is still one of the most photographed spots at Camosun.